Wednesday, 21 October 2015

“Ramon Magsaysay Award (Asia’s Nobel Prize) for Indians” ―Professor M.S.Rao

"The growth and development of people is the highest calling of leadership." — Harvey S. Firestone

Ramon Magsaysay Award is  the Asia's highest honour given to Asians in six categories.  Established in 1957,  it is considered the Nobel Prize of Asia.  It is named after the third president of the Republic of the Philippines. In the same year (1957) Philippines lost Ramon Magsaysay in a plane crash on March 17.  The first Ramon Magsaysay Awards were given on August 31, 1958. The first awards were given to five outstanding individuals working in India, Indonesia, Philippines, Republic of China (Taiwan) and Sri Lanka, and a Philippine-based organization.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation gives the prize to Asian individuals achieving excellence in their respective fields. This prestigious award is given to 6 Asians every year for outstanding contributions in government service, public service, community leadership, journalism, literature and creative communication arts, peace and international understanding and emergent leadership.

During the 2000 Magsaysay Awards presentation ceremony, the Foundation announced the creation of a sixth Award category, Emergent Leadership. The Ramon Magsaysay Award for Emergent Leadership honors "individuals, forty years of age and below, doing outstanding work on issues of social change in their communities, but whose leadership is not yet broadly recognized outside of these communities." An award in this category was given for the first time in 2001. 

The award is conferred on those whose selfless service has offered their societies, Asia, and the world successful solutions to some of the most intractable problems of human development.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is given to celebrate greatness of spirit and transformative leadership. Over three hundred outstanding men, women and organizations were given this prestigious award since its inception in 1957.  Awardees are selected annually by the trustees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation. Awardees are presented with a certificate and a medallion with an embossed image of Ramon Magsaysay.  The Award is presented to awardees in formal ceremonies in Manila, Philippines on August 31, the birth anniversary of Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay.  List of Indians who have received Ramon Magsaysay award are as follows: 
    Amitabha Chowdhury
    Kiran Bedi
    T N Seshan
    James Michael Lyngdoh
    Jayaprakash Narayan
    M.S. Subbulakshmi
    Manibhai Desai
    Baba Amte
    Lakshmi Chand Jain
    Banoo Jehangir Coyaji
    Mahesh Chandra Mehta
    V Shanta
    Vinoba Bhave
    Verghese Kurien India
    Dr. Dara N Khurody India
    Tribhuvandas Patel
    Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay
    M.S. Swaminathan
    Ela Bhatt
    Mabelle Arole India
    Rajanikant Arole
    Pramod Karan Sethi India
    Chandi Prasad Bhatt
    Pandurang Shastri Athavale
    Aruna Roy India
    Rajendra Singh
    Shantha Sinha
    Prakash Amte
    Mandakini Amte
    Amitabha Chowdhury
    Satyajit Ray
    Boobli George Verghese India
    Sombhu Mitra
    Gour Kishore Ghosh India
    Arun Shourie
    R. K. Laxman
    K.V. Subbanna India
    Ravi Shankar
    Mahasweta Devi
    Palagummi Sainath
    Mother Teresa
    Jockin Arputham
    Laxminarayan Ramdas
    Sandeep Pandey
    Arvind Kejriwal
    Nileema Mishra
    Deep Joshi
    Harish Hande
    Kulandei Francis


The people who received these prestigious awards have contributed their best in their respective areas. They worked for satisfaction, not for recognition.  Hence, excel in your area and contribute your best without looking for recognition to make a difference to the society.

"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it's the only thing that ever has." — Margaret Mead


If you like this article, Like and share Facebook Page:

Life is great!

Professor M.S.Rao, India
Founder of MSR Leadership Consultants India
Listed in Marquis Who's Who in the World in 2013
Vision 2030 Webinar:
Twitter: @professormsrao  
21 Success Sutras for Leaders: Top 10 Leadership Books of the Year (San Diego University) Amazon URL:

Thanks for reading!

Kindly share your thoughts and comments below, I’m sure someone out there will find your story useful.

Copyright©2015 MSR Leadership Consultants India. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited.

This is a nonprofit blog to share Professor M.S.Rao’s passion and vision to build one million students as global leaders by 2030. Please don't cut articles from my blog and redistribute by email or post to the web. The use of this material is free provided copyright is acknowledged and reference or link is made to the Blog  This material may not be sold, or published in any form, or used in the provision of business services to a third party without permission.


  1. A very good article on this prestigious award in Asia.
    It is very simple and straight with facts and figures.
    You have contributed 34 years of your life for society including by serving in Indian Air Force. You have added an immense value to society. You inspired and shaped students as global leaders. You raised very sensitive issues on social media. You provide free leadership training to students to build one million students as global leaders by 2030. Hence, you deserve this award based on 'community leadership'.
    I am confident that you will bag this award in future.
    It is a great honor to be your follower.

  2. Many Indians received this prestigious award for their meritorious services. You must get this award for your crusade against corruption and irregularities in private colleges in India.

  3. Thanks for detailed description of this prestigious award in Asia. It is truly the Nobel Prize of Asia. I am glad that many Indians are receiving this award for their contribution.
    I am sure you will be recipient of this award in future.

  4. I strongly support this award to you for your Vision 2030: One Million Global Leaders and for your service to students and contribution to education.